Travelling – and being lost. Or not.

by jackieballantyne

Author Pip Adam makes some insightful observations about “The Silver Gaucho” in the current issue of New Zealand Books. http://nzbooks.org.nz/latest-issue/

Here is the first:

“The Silver Gaucho is published by The Doby Press which is also the name of the publishing house where the protagonist of the book works. This creates all sorts of interesting echoes for the reader and plays with that wobbly line between narrator and author, “real” and real world.”

Pip is the best kind of reader. She gets it! Thanks Pip. And here’s something you might not know – the publisher at The Doby Press is none other than Solly McKeen, all grown up and moved on since she first appeared in “How to Stop a Heart from Beating”.

I love it when readers travel with me.

Another observation from Pip Adam:

“This is a book concerned with travel and being lost. One of the most satisfying aspects of the book is the multiple ways Lockie returns, revealing all the complexity and uneasiness of this idea and the ways travelling complicates and at the same time clarifies the place/s we call home.”

In a recent interview I was asked about ideas of ‘home’. “You travel so much,” the interviewer said. “Where do you feel you belong?”

When I think deeply about ‘home’ I realise that for me, it is not a place. My passport says I’m Australian, I live in New Zealand and spend months of each year exploring some other part of the world. I have come to the conclusion that ‘home’ is in my head – and probably in my heart. It’s the amalgamation of all that I am. And when I feel ‘lost’ it’s often because I’m attempting to do something/think something or act in some way contrary to that which my head and heart expect. At that moment I am ‘lost’.

And while we’re on the subject of Lockie Steele – yes, she’s lost – and lost again. But she is resilient. She’ll always find her way ‘home’ in the end.

